bestandworstofgermany

how to survive in Germany, Deutschland without cultural barriers, best and worst of Germany

NOT AS GOOD AS I EXPECTED: smoking

I come from the country where smoking in public areas is forbidden. As a nonsmoker I start chocking when someone smokes near me. I have to say, I had long forgotten what kind of feeling it was.

In Germany I was reminded.

What is interesting, is that in NRW where I reside, it is forbidden, too. So the law is the same but the practice, unfortunatelly, is different.

Last summer we came to our favorite Italian place for some ice cream. A place typical for families with children. I think it was raining on that day, so we decided to come in, not sit outside. Someone inside was smoking. So we had to quit. I do not remember this happening to me in the recent ten years maybe in any other EU country!

OK, for the sake of truth I was getting short of air in one restaurant maybe 6 – 7 years ago in London.

But to smoke in an Italian ice cafe which is typical place where kids come, ecxuse me?!

I must say Germans smoke much more in an average. You can often see a person walking in the street and smoking.

One more thing I do not like at all and feel surprised each time I see it, and unfortunately I see it a lot, it is ads of cigarettes in the streets. I have also not seen these things for a very very long time!

Everybody has very high expectations from Western Europe. Can there be more more Western Europe as Nord Rhein Westfalen? I do not think so. And I have to say times have changed. Some of the things have become better in many other countries and they stayed the same in Western Europe. And now they are bad.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2013 by in Food, For kids, Going out, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
