bestandworstofgermany

how to survive in Germany, Deutschland without cultural barriers, best and worst of Germany

A GOOD side of not caring how you look

I was complaining, ranting and wondering a lot about how people really do not care how they dress in Germany. Not all. There are some who do care. But the critical mass cares about anything possible except the way they look.

To be fair I must admit it has a good side of it. 

To keep it short, you can get out of your home looking just anything. Wearing absolutely anything.

Nobody will give you preaching glances. Nobody will ask you if you are feeling well or if you are ok. They will take you absolutely the same way as if you were dressed for your wedding day.

Even if you are wearing your pyjamas. Even if your pyjamas are mit pink flamingos.

Image

8 comments on “A GOOD side of not caring how you look

  1. Miss Z
    May 29, 2013

    Another reason to move to Germany!

    Do they say anything if you go out butt naked?😛

  2. bestandworstofgermany
    May 29, 2013

    Never tried myself😀 and hopefully never will😀
    But I saw a man once who looked like butt naked. He was wearing strings in fact. But in the middle of a day it felt like he was actually butt naked. And I swear he was! Everybody was pretending not seeing him.🙂

  3. Hauke Hagenhoff
    May 30, 2013

    Well, we would definitely notice pyjamas are mit pink flamingos. Definitely.
    Not feeling the urge to let you know about it doesn’t mean the opposite.

    I’ve even seen women wearing strings … on top of the trousers. I noticed, but it was too hard to imagine they didn’t knew already, so why should I let them know I did?

    At the end of the day, this is still a free country and everybody is eligible to make a fool out of himself.

  4. fizzywhizkid
    June 9, 2013

    I need those PJs! Where did you spot them?🙂

  5. bestandworstofgermany
    June 10, 2013

    Hauke Hagenhoff, thanks a million for your comment. This helps me to understand Germans even better. I think in many countries people are not capable of making themselves not to show that they disapprove something. I think it is one of many best sides a person can enjoy in Germany! I have to confess I really thought that Germans are so open that they accept anything.

  6. bestandworstofgermany
    June 10, 2013

    fizzywhizkid is there a way I could send you a private message?

    • fizzywhizkid
      June 10, 2013

      Or possibly everyone can see it, anyway🙂 Oh, well

  7. Elizabeth
    June 14, 2013

    So funny…I feel like I’ve seen the opposite. I’m visiting Heidelberg and have been struck by how effortlessly the woman seem to put themselves together…always looking so good! The men too of course but as a woman I tend to watch what the women, especially those with young kids like me, are wearing. Where do you live?

    PS. Thanks for the follow.🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2013 by in Fashion, Learning German, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .
