bestandworstofgermany

how to survive in Germany, Deutschland without cultural barriers, best and worst of Germany

GOOD: typical German cherry pudding cake recipe

I was pregnant with the idea of posting some typical German food recipes here. But I also had a difficulty to do so. Not because I do not know how to make food. I do. But my problem was that some of the food I like that are quite typical for my native kitchen they are also quite similar to German food. But also somewhat different to post them here and declare as typical food which is widely made and eaten here.

But what a luck, I just tried a recipe that is something very typical for Germans.

KIRSCHKUCHEN

CHERRY & PUDDING CAKE

Ingredients

For dough: 200 g flour, 2 tea spoons baking powder, 100 g curd, 50 g sugar, 1 sprinkle salt, 1 egg, 3 spoons milk, 3 spoons oil.

For filling: 1 glass or 700 g cherries (fresh, frozen or canned but without pits), 3 eggs, 100 g cream, 250 g curd, 1 pack of vanilla pudding powder, 3 spoons of sugar, 1/2 of tea spoon cinnamon, some sugar powder.

Making is very simple

1. Mix flour with baking powder. Add the rest of dough ingredients and mix very well together until you have a dough.

2. Roll a dough out and make about 2 cm bigger as your backing form for side walls. Put into baking form and spread the berries on it.

3. Mix all the ingredients of filling except sugar powder. Bake in 180° C oven for 40 minutes.

My comments

I know that in my oven it always takes more. And I put more of cream and curd, so I baked 50 minutes and then some 15 minutes more. But still next time I would bake it even more. Maybe I needed such a long time to bake cause I was afraid it to get too dark from the top and I covered with foil. Nex time I would try without a foil.

Also, next time I would not put additional amount of curd. And I think at least once I will try without curd in the filling. Cause with it it tastes a little like Käsekuchen which is also very typical German but I simply want this cake to have its own taste.

And I would add more sugar next time. Cause all German cakes always taste me as if the chef has forgotten to add sugar. But maybe that is because it is just my personal taste. A little sweeter🙂

I also would cover baking form with butter in order to avoid it sticking to the surface.

And, the making instruction had nothing to say about when to sprinkle sugar powder on, so I forgot it! I think if you want to do this, you should sprinkle once it has cooled down. I think this cake should only be eaten when at least of room temperature. Or much better, from the fridge.

Kirschkuchen, cherry and pudding cake (c) BestAndWorstOfGermany. You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

Kirschkuchen, cherry and pudding cake (c) BestAndWorstOfGermany. You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

Have a wonderful extended in all meanings Sunday dinner!

One comment on “GOOD: typical German cherry pudding cake recipe

  1. Pingback: My progress with German language, I just can´t believe it! | bestandworstofgermany

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , .
