bestandworstofgermany

how to survive in Germany, Deutschland without cultural barriers, best and worst of Germany

Conchita Wurst teaches us some German

Image

OK I will skip that part.

You know what.

I am from Eastern Europe so I am sure you know more or less what I think without me saying a word more, right?

Anyway, I think everybody has said everything and anything possible in the last 48 hours on the subject. So anything I would say would be just repeating, right?

But why Wurst??? If you have no clue whatsoever of German language like I did when I came, here is a hint. Wurst means sausage in German.

So now you know too. What comes to your mind? Do not worry, I am the most innocent person in the world. At least I want to think so. And I get the same very bad thoughts.

Its not what you think.

In the recent flood of information about the recently very famous Conchita Wurst my eye caught a quote that in Germany a saying “Das is Wurst” means Ït’s nothing, not worth paying attention to.

In my 4,5 years lived in Germany so far, never heard such an expression. If somebody German is reading here, could you please confirm that expression? Or otherwise I won’t trust him/her the same way like I don’t trust her beard.

Most likely it was made not for trust after all.

6 comments on “Conchita Wurst teaches us some German

  1. ladyofthecakes
    May 12, 2014

    Uhm… yes, “das ist mir Wurst” is a VERY COMMONLY USED expression in the south (Bavaria) where I’m from, and also in Austria.

    • bestandworstofgermany
      May 12, 2014

      Here in NRW I never heard anybody say like this! I suppose Wurst is more important here towards the North😀😀😀😀 Danke!

      • ladyofthecakes
        May 12, 2014

        It’s really common, my mother probably comes out with that on a daily basis.

        BTW – you may not have realised this – but “Conchita” is not only a fairly common first name in the Spanish speaking world, but it also has another meaning, which is “pussy”.

        “Pussy Sausage” is a very witty stage name for a drag queen, don’t you reckon? At least it made me laugh😉

  2. bestandworstofgermany
    May 13, 2014

    No way! So its actually worse than I have thought!😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2014 by in Learning German, Media, Music and tagged , , , , , .
