bestandworstofgermany

how to survive in Germany, Deutschland without cultural barriers, best and worst of Germany

Germany : Brazil – 7 : 1 from the other side

If you are looking for the details how the game went and who scored the goals, etc. any factual details, please save your time by looking elsewhere.

This is also factual. But its from the other side of the screen.

Was there anything happening there too? At the time of this historical match? Oh yes. But there was very little who saw it. Probably me only.

To start with the introduction I must say football used to always cause me headache. Seriously. I hated to watch it when it was on TV. But nonetheless just hearing that noice coming from the plastic box was causing me serious headache and irritation.

Then, in a strange twist of destiny, I moved to Germany. The country of football as you might know. And it did not become that overnight btw.

What can I tell you, you can not escape football once in Germany.

(c) BestAndWorstOfGermany A house with flags during World Football Championship 2014. You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

(c) BestAndWorstOfGermany A house with flags during World Football Championship 2014. You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

Yesterday I was supposed to watch semi final as other normal people. But the conversation with my friend was too good to leave so I left later as planned. Football did not wait for me.

The streets were all empty. All mine! There were no single car at the sight! I have never seen a city like that. Even on an early Sunday morning there is a car. Or two.

(c) BestAndWorstOfGermany. Empty street in Germany at night. You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

(c) BestAndWorstOfGermany. Empty street in Germany at night. You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

It was the time when I first ever in my life drove at the red light. And did not show the signal for taking a turn. Not the first time to be very honest. If you want to hit empty road in Germany, my advice is choose time on the important football game or early morning on Rosenmontag.

All the people had their noses stuck to TV. It was raining. And you might know, there are two types of rain here. A pleasant one. And a suffering one. A pleasant one is nice summer rain on a hot day. Its warm and refreshing. And it puts a smile on your face.

Yesterday football was enough so it was the other type of rain. When you want to run and hide under any kind of shelter as soon as possible.

You got to believe, there were people sitting outside bars and cafes in the street facing windows. They were watching football from outside through the windows as there were not enough places inside! In another bar people were even standing outside just to see what was going on TV.

Like they were watching TV I was watching them.

You might wonder if I was not sorry to be missing watching the game myself? Even a little bit?!

No, I knew the score. Even if I  had no glimpse of the screen all the way.

Each goal was obvious from the sounds I heard around, from bars, cafes and private houses. It was that loud and clear. Each time. So coming home I knew the exact score! You can ask my kids.

(c) BestAndWorstOfGermany. Fly stacker for sale in real,- You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermay.wordpress.com

(c) BestAndWorstOfGermany. Fly stacker for sale in real,- You can use this picture and / or text with an active link to Bestandworstofgermay.wordpress.com

OK, I confess, I could not believe about the 5th one so I thought it was 4:0. But I heard all five very clearly. The 5th was accompanied with a very loud and somewhat hysterical laughter. It was just my brain that could not take 5 seriously.

So yes Germans do go crazy. In the only occasion. And its called football.

And no, the windows of the shops are in place today. As well as of cars. Its Germany after all.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2014 by in Character, Going out, Must see, Sports.
