bestandworstofgermany

how to survive in Germany, Deutschland without cultural barriers, best and worst of Germany

Wohnen vs Leben

For a few years these to words – wohnen and leben – did not make any difference to me. I thought both meant to live and were synonyms.

One day I found a broshure in my post box from a real estate agency. This advertisement material contained the following quote:

“Wir wohnen nicht, um zu wohnen, sondern wir wohnen, um zu leben.”

Paul Johannes Tillich

(C) BestAndWorstOfGermany. Little piece of heaven on earth. You can use text and / or picture with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

(C) BestAndWorstOfGermany. Little piece of heaven on earth. You can use text and / or picture with an active link to Bestandworstofgermany.wordpress.com

I think now it has become a little bit more clear to me what is the difference between these two German words! Wohnen means more like living in a house, and leben means more like the process of enjoying life.

If there are any Germans out there reading my blog, am I right learning my street lessons?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2015 by in Learning German and tagged .
